First Name
Vic
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford bronco
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I was in the Outerbanks on the 4x4 carova beach trail pretty easy, but as you go north closer to the Virginia border the sand gets pretty deep. Got stuck for a few mins. I am new to off roading but learning. I was on 4H. Should I have switched to sand mode and locked the rear diff. But I can’t drive above 20 miles, engine revs high. Oil temp rose to about 221. Would it have been better to keep it in sand mode and switch off the rear diff.
Sponsored

Area51BS

Badlands
First Name
Ron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Badlands non SAS 4dr 2.3
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I’m not an expert. But 4L, locked and low gear and high rpms seems best for sand. I’m sure more experienced will chime in.

DrewBronc21

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Subaru STi, 2018 Camry Hybrid
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Most importantly air down to 18 psi, possibly a bit lower, 4L, steady on gas, stay in others tracks. Lockers if you get stuck.

RagnarKon

Badlands
First Name
Bryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Bronco, Escape, Focus
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

• Drop the air pressure.
  • Disable traction control
  • 4x4 (High or low)
  • Zoom zoom!! (hopefully)
I assume the Sand GOAT mode will automatically disable traction control and stick it into 4x4, but admittedly I never use the GOAT modes, so not sure.

Usually when people are struggling on sand it is almost always because traction control is getting in their way or because they didn’t lower the air pressures enough. The finer and warmer the sand is the lower you have to go. With standard wheels you should be able to get down to 12-15 PSI. And if you get beadlocks you can get down lower than that.

4x4 is important, but whether you are in High or Low is very situational. I will say that 90% of the time I’m on sand I’m in High.