Outer Banks
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Bronco OBX w/ Squatch, 1975 Ford Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
Clubs

You ever find specs for the M1-209 filter? Just hit 2500 miles and am going to do my first change. I usually run Mobil 1 filters.

My one concern about the different filters is what back pressure they generate (at least new) verses flow rate. While the pump is positive displacement that pressure will translate into stress in the oil pump.

Back pressure should increase over time depending on how much crap the filter accumulates. I note the pressure relief is 38% higher in the 400S. That could suggest a typically higher back pressure since I think you said both have the same flow rate range. Or maybe it is expected to go higher before the oil change interval is reached.

As an engineer I recognize the smaller particle size and higher filtration percent requires more surface area to keep pressure from getting higher hence the longer length. Even if it runs higher with a brand-new filter, more frequent oil changes should keep back pressure from reaching higher than the factory filter levels or even keep it from what the factor filter with factory interval sees.
The oil pump is a positive displacement pump, so a little higher resistance in the filter won't have a significant impact on flow rate.
Sponsored

OP
OP

Tricky Dick

Badlands
First Name
Dick
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.TD-Distributing.com
Vehicle(s)
21 Bronco, 88 Bronco II, 03 Ford F250
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

You ever find specs for the M1-209 filter? Just hit 2500 miles and am going to do my first change. I usually run Mobil 1 filters.

My one concern about the different filters is what back pressure they generate (at least new) verses flow rate. While the pump is positive displacement that pressure will translate into stress in the oil pump.