Base
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
siennavenzasparkXDfit
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs

I understood that the issue was the oil vapor was recirculated and would then build up on the back of the valves. With direct injection there is no flow over the valves to clean them off so it would build up.

With the addition of port injection on the 2.7 part of the air/gas mixture flows through the intake manifold where it can clean the back of the valves as it passes over them negating the need for a catch can.

But I am no expert.. others more qualified will surely pitch in better information.

Also this is a direct injection issue.. not a Ford issue. All direct injection motors have this potential.

I think Toyota also has the direct/port system? Can't remember exactly
Sponsored

Raptor911

Raptor
First Name
Raptor911
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 F150 Raptor, 2022 Wildtrak
Your Bronco Model
Raptor
Most mechanics couldn't identify a catch can so it will not be an issue.

BTW .. I have never know anyone to be denied a warranty over a catch can. BTW, a catch actually helps the engine run cleaner.

tshaw2009

Base
First Name
Tony
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 F150 Lariat, 2018 Ford Edge Titanium
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs

It really depends on whether the dealership you use to get the vehicle serviced at are dbags lol. To be safe, ask your service department if they would have an issue with it.

Mattwings

Badlands
First Name
Matthew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Badlands Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

The dealer (on behalf of Ford) would have to prove that an after part caused the issue in question, in my experience. It may take a small claims judge to decide, but generally, unless there is very specific causation, the tie would go to the individual, not the manufacturer.

Raptor911

Raptor
First Name
Raptor911
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Your Bronco Model
Raptor