First Name
Wade
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Wrx
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
I have no off-road experience other than military life. I’ve been looking at the gx 470 used and wonder if the base Bronco could be as good off-road. Price is a problem, which is why I thought used. But the prices on these are going crazy. After 10-15k plus upgrades to a 470 I would be getting close to a base 7speed monthly payment. Don’t think I’ll ever be a rock climber. Just want to explore and have some adventures. Would love to have the base with sqwatch but let’s be honest if I could save the extra 8k for that I wouldn’t be worried about money. I know there’s a couple on here that have put 35’s on their base and it’s done more than I would probably ever do.
Sponsored

TX-Hans

First Edition
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 Escalade, '13 Jeep Wrangler, '21 Bronco FE
Your Bronco Model
First Edition
This one is loaded. Simple answer: I'd take a base 2-door Bronco any day and everyday over a Lexus Gx470 for off road, and frankly...all the time. It may take time but you will be able to modify your base Bronco to be what you want and it will be very capable. The lexus is just not an off road vehicle. It's a very comfortable, lux car pavement traveler (nothing wrong with that).

Oh, and the Bronco is just so much more fun and cool to drive.

710-oil-614

Big Bend
First Name
Cal
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Maverick Tremor, 2010 Toyota Tacoma
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Some folks are going to get a little upset by this but.....the base bronco is not really a great off road vehicle.

For starters, the stock tires are trash so you would immediately need to upgrade those.

You don't have lockers or underbody protection. I know you mentioned you aren't going to rock crawl but thats not the only place you can cause damage to the underside of your vehicle off road.

Dusty has shown you can wheel a stock Bronco off road but it's a challenge.