First Name
Jon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ram
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
I’m pretty new to this, done stuff in the beach, the blue ridge mountains and the smokies, but that’s about it. I’m heading out west in a few days so I had a tire pressure question. I’m going to do the Shaffer trail in Moab and the Corkscrew in CO. Anyone done these before have a suggestion of tire pressure or just any insight in general? Anything would be appreciated. I’m in a 4D BB Sas 2021
Sponsored

RagnarKon

Badlands
First Name
Bryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Bronco, Escape, Focus
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

80% of the time while off-roading... lowering air pressure is more of a ride comfort thing than it is a necessity to actually get where you are going. BUT, there are a few situations where you want to lower air pressure for increased traction...
  • Sand - The lighter and fluffier the sand is, the lower the air pressure you want to go.
  • Snow - Air pressure is heavily dependent on what the snow is like.
  • Rock crawling - Lowering your air pressure can help your tire tread "wrap" around the rock as you crawl. If you lower it too much you risk a pinch flat or de-beading the tire.
If you aren't doing those three things, lowering air pressure is more or less optional. 25 PSI is a good starting point.

I Like Soup

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ram PowerWagon
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Hi! Currently in Moab and heading to Ouray in the am. The Shafer trail switchbacks really dont require any airing down. Done the trail twice in the past year. The whole Potash/Shafer trail is more comfortable airing down to cut down on the vibrations but not required. Corkscrew is currently not open but being plowed. Cant offer any advice there.

Have Fun!!

BigBend530

Big Bend
First Name
Dominic
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Bronco 2Dr.
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend