Technophobes: How Scared Is Too Scared?

BroncoMike

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'71 Bronco, '02 Excursion
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Back in the "good old days", I was an old school Diesel mechanic. Racks, flyweights, mechanical injectors... some of them didn't have an electrical system at all - air starters (loved that sound!), mechanical cables run through pulleys and connected to levers. Mechanical gauges. I worked on a tugboat that had a locomotive engine in it, connected to the propshaft by a huge rubber airbag that pushed against a friction plate... release the pressure for "neutral", and to put it in reverse propulsion, you shut down the engine and flipped a lever on the air starter, then re-started the engine in reverse rotation. If ever there was someone who should be resistant to "newfangled", it should have been me.