First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
BMW X3
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
I'm an experienced driver (cue scene from rainman), but its been about 20 years since I drove anything that wasn't front- or all-wheel drive. I have a 2.3, 4-door, soft-top OBX with stock non-squatch tires. I am finding that on wet paved roads, its fairly easy to lose traction during acceleration. I am wondering if this is normal. Is it the combination of being in rear-wheel drive with a light weight back-end (no roof)? Is it the mall-crawler tires? My heavy foot? It just seems odd to be able to lose traction quite so easily in a fully modern vehicle... but it may just be my inexperience in driving this class of car.

Anyone else having a similar experience? Concerning or just learn to adjust my driving style?

[Update: This has been a really constructive and amiable thread. I appreciate the advice, the empathy, and the sense of humor. I have gotten the information I wanted from the conversation. Thanks.]
Sponsored

Last edited:

broadicustomworks

Badlands
First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 Z71, 06 VTX1300, 94 Cobra, 21 BL Bronco 4dr.
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Hmm.
No issues here.
I'd put the bulk of the blame on the heavy foot?

I mean, lightweight rear doesn't help, but look at the plethora of trucks on the roads who are not constantly spinning out of control.

Jazer

Outer Banks
First Name
Jessica
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2.7 OBX
Your Bronco Model
Outer Banks
Clubs

I really only lose traction if I goose it from a stop while taking a turn. Even with my K02s which have a bit less pavement traction than my standard OBX tires/Bridgestones. Mine is the standard system (no 4A) so always in RWD with the 2.7. I think you need to lighten up on the accelerator, it's not a race car, lol.

Last edited:

Sponsored

MOBRONCO

Big Bend
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
F150
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend