Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Bronco HOSS 3.0 Wildtrak
Your Bronco Model
Wildtrak
Clubs

Hello Bronco6g folks,

I am a novice off roader, but I've always been more interested in a bit of speed over rock crawling, etc.

Anyway, TLDR is I almost sent my under 10k miles Wildtrak into a tree from completely spinning out a turn at about 35 mph.

The longer full story is that I often go down to the forgotten coast of the Florida panhandle which has lots of really cool forest roads, such as Tates Hell, etc. I was on a dirt road in Panacea called Skipper Bay road that goes all the way to the bay and has a beautiful turnaround at the end where you can see Oyster leases, etc.

I put it in Baja mode and was going pretty damn fast on semi-firm sand/dirt. I was having a blast when I was taking a corner and all of a sudden I'm fishtailing and had lost most control. I did know enough to not slam on the brakes, but I almost went into a tree. It is a one way trail and pretty narrow. I'm sure that I made a bunch of mistakes but I've learned a lot here and wondering what a reasonable speed would be on a road like this. Further down the road there was a bunch of ruts and some mud holes which when a slow pace, the Bronco handled wonderfully. I have HOSS 3.0 and the suspension really is awesome on this thing. I now see that when in Baja mode, traction control is set to off. What this the main issue? Looking forward to learning more from y'all and feel free to flame away. I'm not sensitive LOL

Ford Bronco First experience with Baja mode IMG_0282
Sponsored

Boreal

Badlands
First Name
Colby
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.cspencephoto.com
Vehicle(s)
2022 Badlands 2DR
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Baja really reels the boost curve in earlier. The more sensitive throttle map makes it easier to tip into boost. With traction off, you can spin the wheels. Stabilitrac is still present, perhaps with a different threshold. The steering rack changes rate/weight.