First Name
Kyle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
GMC yukon denali
Your Bronco Model
Base
I’m a very amateur (aka no experience, but we all start off somewhere right) off roader and I plan to get into overlanding when I get my bronco. I ordered a 2.3 manual 2dr base and I was wondering if I really missed out on anything because I don’t have the sway bar disconnect and lockers. Forgive my ignorance, but what is the significance of those features and will I need them?
Sponsored

rgwinn

First Edition
First Name
Rod
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
‘62 Vette
Your Bronco Model
First Edition
Clubs

In order of importance to take you off-road
  1. Good running vehicle
  2. Tires
  3. Some version of 4wd or AWD
  4. Low range transfer case
  5. Locking rear axle
  6. Locking front axle
Disconnecting the sway bar is important for additional articulation, which may allow the vehicle to get the traction it needs to keep momentum. It can be done manually, on some vehicles, Jeep Rubicon, and now the Badlands, there is an option for electronic disconnect. Most people will never be in a situation to take advantage of it, does no good in slippery conditions on the road.

also to note; prior to doing any serious off-road exploration learn about the capabilities of your vehicle, know the conditions of the trail, try to go with other vehicles and make sure you have supplies and equipment for self recovery. Lots of YouTube videos with good info.

xcxv

Heritage
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Heritage
Can I drive on road and highway with swaybar disconnected?

Sponsored

Drex

Banned
Badlands
Banned
Banned
First Name
Jake
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'13 SLK55 AMG, '15 Indian Chief, '15 WRX
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
sure, as Hopeless stated, however the BL hydraulic one will reconnect if you decided to spin the speedometer over 20 MPH...

North7

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
SUV
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Clubs