Big Bend
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco Big Bend
Your Bronco Model
Big Bend
Clubs

So I've never used snow chains on a vehicle before, but since I am driving through the Lake Tahoe Area and in Colorado this winter, I decided to buy some. When I checked the owners manual for recommended use, I read a warning that said use chains on all four tires and then immediately after the warning, the manual said to use chains only on the rear (picture attached for reference).

I've reached out to @Ford Motor Company, but they have been significantly less than helpful. Has anyone on this forum come across this discrepancy in the owners manual yet? If so, what answers have you gotten? Thanks!

IMG_2690.PNG
Sponsored

Karl_in_Chicago

Badlands
First Name
Karl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Badlands
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I think you've misinterpreted. I believe the first statement is saying that if you use snow TIRES you need to use the same TIRES on all 4 wheels. It then goes on to say that CHAINS should only be used on the rear wheels. I may have misread it but I don't see a conflict.

thatspecialbeat

Black Diamond
First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Subies
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

Do not use chains. That is why you bought a real 4wd vehicle.

Put the box next to one of your rear windows so a CHP officer can see it is in there if they are doing a chain check.

Chains are bad. The manual says you can use them with the Base steelies. But don't.

Also, I'm not making the distinction between chains and cables. Don't use cables either.

Broncotrax

Badlands
First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
69 Bronco, '17 Superduity, '22 Badsquatch, CR 250R
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
I've lived in Colorado my whole life with a good 4x4 and good snow tires. I've never needed chains on a public road. Now off in the sticks in deep muddy snow, I have used them there. Just stay on public roads, you'll be fine.

swooshdave

Badlands