Sponsored

Front Unit Bearings Safe to run without a CV?

Snacktime

Black Diamond
First Name
Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco, F150
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

So this week the trail discussion was about running without the cv-shaft installed. After some back and forth we ultimately decided to run with a stub shaft. As we where looking at 1000+ mile drive home it was kind of not worth the risk.
PXL_20231122_160722779.jpg

The unit bearing looks like a solid center with no seams. Not sure if a stub shaft is required? Anyone got more incite into our factory unit bearing?
Sponsored

Broncoman7072

Base
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
72 Bronco, 70 Bronco
Your Bronco Model
Base
Clubs

After breaking my front diff and waiting months for the Ultimate FDU I have plenty of experience. I ran for months with no CVs installed.

OP
OP
Snacktime

Snacktime

Black Diamond
First Name
Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco, F150
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

After breaking my front diff and waiting months for the Ultimate FDU I have plenty of experience. I ran for months with no CVs installed.
And I will call that proof you don't need one.

Felix808

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
After 746 days, a MY22 4-door Badlands Bronco :-)
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

Wow, that is surprising as most unit wheel bearings (edit) I'm familiar with need the clamping force to stay together.
Thanks for the intel.

Last edited:

jeff in ohio

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ranger
Your Bronco Model
Undecided
Wow, that is surprising as most unit wheel bearings need the clamping force to stay together.
Thanks for the intel.