Sponsored

Why aren’t more companies capitalizing on Ford’s issues?

Broncadonk MKG

Black Diamond
First Name
Mikayla
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Volkswagen
Your Bronco Model
Black Diamond
Clubs

Thanks for the add! Long time lurker, first day as a member on B6G.
Like soooo many others, I’ve had a roller coaster experience over the past year. I’m a 7/14 reservation holder with a build as follows: BD/2dr/A51/2.7/mid/tow/x-bar/bull bar.
Like many others, I had the dealer from hell until they went under and got bought out by a new company. To make amends, my new inventory manager put a PC10 on my build and I’m now expecting a build date of 8/16…. IF Ford keeps their shit together and doesn’t shut down that week.

Now that my background is out of the way, let’s get to it…

I’m especially weary of all the Webasto concerns, because I’ll take delivery in October when I return home from a long work trip (I’m military), drive my bronco for a few months, then deploy for a year. My husband, bless his heart, will drive it once or twice a week but it’ll spend most of its time parked in my alley, under a tarp when weather is bad. That is a long window of time for the hard top to degrade, let moisture in, freeze/melt/refreeze, etc, and destroy the interior or electrical components. I am on the hunt for an aftermarket hard top to install ASAP, to avoid the headache of ensuring my husband can take it in for recalls or repairs while I’m on the other side of the planet.
I’ve sent messages to ADD, DV8 and Patriot Fastbacks, inquiring about their plans (if any) to develop and produce Bronco fastback hardtops like they do for Wranglers. No response from anyone yet. Rational me says aftermarket companies would be pouncing on this opportunity that Webasto has created for the free market thanks to their failures. Yet, despite constant searches and messages, I don’t see it being considered.
Sponsored

okbob

Badlands
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
71' u15, 66' u14, 66' u14