Bryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Bronco, Escape, Focus
Your Bronco Model
Badlands
Clubs

I own a 2022 Badlands with the capable bumper. I bought the capable bumper over the HD modular bumper primarily to get the factory fog light wiring/switch, assuming I could also find an aftermarket bumper I really liked to add on a winch. Well it turns out there are VERY few aftermarket bumpers I like, and the ones I do like are prohibitively expensive—especially when you add on shipping costs.

So I began searching for a winch mount for my capable bumper. The two I found were by JCR and Rough Country. I've had some pretty shaky prior experiences with Rough Country in the past, so I wasn't too keen on it. And this post by @Tricky Dick definitely wasn't giving me the warm or fuzzy feelings I was looking for prior to purchasing the Rough Country mount. I'm sure it's fine, and I'm sure there are lots of people who've had very good experience with it, but pass for me. Based on what limited information I could find with the JCR mount, it seemed like it too may have similar issues to the Rough Country so I passed on that one as well. Though I admit both are more economical than the approach I went with.

And then Ford released the press photos for the Wildland Firefighting Command Rig. BAM. Capable bumper with the Ford Performance winch. So I knew it was possible—probably with some modifications—but I knew it was at least possible.

Ford Bronco Ford Performance WARN winch on capable bumper — Yes it's possible! 1697410226576

So against my better judgement I dropped several thousand dollars on a Ford Performance winch without knowing it would work. And guess what?? It works!! Some minor modifications, yes, but it works. Video below

Picture Dump

The bolts holding the bumper on. Three on each side.

Ford Bronco Ford Performance WARN winch on capable bumper — Yes it's possible! 1697411830837